San Francisco Province, Bareilly

San Francisco Province is the offshoot of Seraphic Province, Palakkad, which in turn came into existence when Thrissur Province was divided into three separate units namely Thrissur, Irinjalakuda and Palakkad. When it was divided in 1979, the then Palakkad Vice Province got two mission stations in the then Lucknow Diocese, Uttar Pradesh.

1. Fatima F.C. Convent, Shahjahanpur, Bareilly Diocese, Uttar Pradesh.

2. St. John's Convent, Gola Gokharnath, Lucknow Diocese, Uttar Pradesh.

The new 'San Francisco Region'- Bareilly, was officially declared on 17th September 2000. Rev. Sr. Tracila was appointed the first Regional Superior. The Region was raised to a Province on 17th February 2011. Rev. Sr. Mary Elesia was the first Provincial Superior.Sr Elsy John was elected as the second Provincial superior. At present it has 61 members and 13 Convents.




News & Events